Define yourself

There are times when you realize that life is an ocean.  It touches many shores but the true mysteries are still waiting to be discovered.  For years I have lived on the fringe of life.  I resisted taking chances because I had others counting on me and taking risk would be us all at risk.  This mentality has stayed with me till today.  The excuse now is not others but what will happen to me if I take a risk. LOL

A while back I had the following status statement on Facebook – “It’s Time to get R.E.A.L…..Reject Excuses and Lies.”  The weeks following posting this statement I realized that for a long time I have lived off of excuses and lies.  Excuses of why I could not do something or go somewhere or become something.  Lies related to what I believed and who I am, others opinion of me, and any number of things.  These things are the stumbling blocks for doubt that the devil places in our way to keep us in isolation.  Over the last few months, I have slowly been  moving ahead to a new place in my life.

There have been things and people I have had to let walk away.  Those things hurt but were truly necessary for all concerned.  I am far from being perfect by any means.  I strive to treat people with the love and respect I want to receive.  This can open the door to being taken advantage of a lot in many ways.  By getting R.E.A.L with myself, I see better what things are worth letting go and what I should hold on to. 

There are parts to being R.E.A.L. that I am focusing on right now.  Complaining is the biggest one to defeat.  I read in the book “The Success Principles” – every complaint is something you can change in your life. If you are not willing to work and make the necessary changes then STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT IT………..If you are going to work to change it STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT IT……..If you cannot do anything to change the situation STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT IT. (Paraphrased a bit my me) Basically, I am in control of what I happens to me.  Complaints are whines or excuses for not getting something done.  I have  make changes and in changing that removes any need to complain about the circumstances.  My outlook has changed as a result of this. We can always find something to complain about daily.  Think for a moment how much better your day would me if you refused to complain.  Granted there are days when things will not go exactly like you hope but your outlook on it affects how others and you see the situation.  Slowly things will start to change for you.  You become your cheerleader on so many levels.

The excuses come from all angles not matter what you want to do.  However, I have had to remember that when seeking advance on things not to gravitate toward those that give me the answer I am looking for or listen to those that knock down my ideas but to discern the balance between the two.  I suppose wisdom is the defense to excuses.  I am leaning on the wisdom of God now to lead me in the direction he desires for me. 

As I mentioned at the beginning lies come at us from all angles.  Lies spoken to and over  us can take root on the inside and cause so much damage to our self-esteem.  The reason I say this is because you always remember the bad things (lies) that someone says about you.  Those things stay with us for a lifetime if we are not careful.  Holding on the lies others have told you or that you accept as true will rip your world apart.  You begin to feel that you are not worthy of anything.   The truth is we are all worthy of so very much from our Heavenly Father.  He loves us more than anything.

That said I am going to take on the deep waters of my life and find out exactly what God has planned for me.  I am bare of all that has held me back and ready for a serious encounter with God.

Leave a comment

Comments